I anonymous

One day last week, I logged onto my Facebook account and decided to try something to see just what sort of “standards” the robots at Facebook have. My plan was simple, when I saw someone in my “feed” had posted a picture of anything, I clicked on the photo and reported it to Facebook as somehow disturbing. Mind you, not a single one of these photos was disgusting, disturbing or even obscene. Well, one was a picture of a fine looking chicken dinner, but that was as close as it came.

Not surprising, within 24 hours Facebook began replying to my report of someones photo as being “annoying or uninteresting” which I found to be perfectly oblique in their meaning. Facebook responded:

“Thank you for taking the time to report something that you feel may violate our Community Standards. Reports like yours are an important part of making Facebook a safe and welcoming environment. We reviewed the photo you reported for annoying and distasteful humor and found it doesn’t violate our Community Standards.
If you think we should take another look, please let us know.”

I got the same response to all the images I sent. So I thought I would have to push harder, so I reported someone who is a friend as posting a comment that violated Facebooks hate speech standards. Mind you, his comment was almost banal in its attempt at humor and intellectualism. Facebook responded:

“Thank you for taking the time to report something that you feel may violate our Community Standards. Reports like yours are an important part of making Facebook a safe and welcoming environment. We reviewed the comment you reported for containing hate speech or symbols and found it doesn’t violate our Community Standards.”

Finally a friend posted a picture of my dog, laying on her back, chewing on a dog treat and obviously in dog heaven. I reported this photo for “displaying nudity” which was an obvious no-brainer, since the dog was naked to the world. Facebook responded:

“Thank you for taking the time to report something that you feel may violate our Community Standards. Reports like yours are an important part of making Facebook a safe and welcoming environment. We reviewed the post you reported for containing nudity and found it doesn’t violate our Community Standards.”

So what have I learned from this failed experiment? Does it mean Facebook really has no standards, since all inquiries are met with the same canned response? Does it mean that when you report nothing at all, but pretend to be offended by it, Facebooks computers are smart enough to realize the complainer is just wasting time? That might be the final kernel of truth to this day long experiment, I have way too much time on my hands.

Leave a Reply

